Getting Fit After Giving Birth – one program at a time

Collage of varius Gray's muscle pictures by Mi...

Collage of varius Gray’s muscle pictures by Mikael Häggström (User:Mikael Häggström) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I’ve made it through three weeks of this crazy new work-out routine, and overall, I really look forward to it. I can’t really say that I enjoy doing it, but I am loving these results. My muscles don’t get super sore anymore…at least not on the daily basis that it was before. They are still sore, but not cripplingly so. So, I guess that means that my muscles are learning how to process that lactic acid more (and I suppose my lungs and my heart becoming more efficient in their jobs).

 

Monday’s Hiit just isn’t too challenging. I enjoy it, I get my heart rate up, break a slight sweat, feel a bit of burning in the muscles, but afterwards it’s just over. I re-catch my breath and that’s is. I think that perhaps my heart and lungs are becoming better conditioned to handle this kind of work out at this particular level.

 

Tuesday was step. I was up half of the night Monday with a stomach ailment (I blame bad salad), but sucked it up and went to the aerobics class anyways. About half way through I had to make a bee-line to the bathroom to vomit. It wasn’t pleasurable that’s for sure. I blame the vomiting on the empty stomach and the way that I tend to gulp liquids even while exercising. Thankfully, I was vomiting just water and not any gross bile or food particles. The work-out itself was a bit more challenging than it has been in the past, but I am trying to keep in mind that I wasn’t at the top of my game.

 

Really tried to push myself on Wednesday’s weight lifting, and man can I definitely feel it! I cranked it up 2, and sometimes even 4 pounds heavier then I wanted to say was the heaviest I could do. So, that was 12, 15, and even 20 pounds depending on what we were doing with them. My biceps and triceps continue to scream at me, but I know it was good!

 

Singer sewing machine - 31K32 (detail 1)

Singer sewing machine – 31K32 (detail 1) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Slept in on Thursday which meant missing kick boxing 😛

 

Friday‘s hiit focused a LOT on the saddlebag area of the legs and buttocks. I tried to push myself and managed to keep up to pace with the instructor, so that’s some pretty significant progress.  I think we ended up doing at least three sets of curtsy lunges…whew!

 

Another good week down!  My clothing is starting to fit a little bit better.  Some of my clothing is actually getting too big 😦  Guess it will soon be time for some low-cost wardrobe updates, I’m thinking perhaps a trip to Goodwill and some good use of my sewing machine will be in order!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

