Getting Fit After Giving Birth – one program at a time

Greek commemorative coin featuring modern and ...

Greek commemorative coin featuring modern and ancient weightlifting (latter picture taken from Grecian vase). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I’ve made it through three weeks of this crazy new work-out routine, and overall, I really look forward to it.  I can’t really say that I enjoy doing it, but I am loving these results.  My muscles don’t get super sore anymore…at least not on the daily basis that it was before.  They are still sore, but not cripplingly so.  So, I guess that means that my muscles are learning how to process that lactic acid more (and I suppose my lungs and my heart becoming more efficient in their jobs).

 

Monday’s Hiit wasn’t really all that difficult at all.  Yeah I got my heart rate up, and I tried to challenge myself, but it didn’t really kill me like it had in the past.  I was getting pretty excited with the idea that maybe I was really seeing results.

 

Tuesday’s step made me sweat and really challenged me in the anerobic respiration, but didn’t really challenge my muscles a whole lot.  Which is exactly what I want.  I want to be healthy and that starts with my lungs and my heart.  Although gaining more muscle, losing fat, and getting more toned, is definitely a plus.  I know it’s still happening even if I don’t feel it to the extent that I was originally feeling it.

 

Wednesday was weight lifting.  Again, I’m not use to the high weight low repetition idea, but I am definitely seeing some results from this!  I am forming muscles and loosing inches in places that I didn’t expect to, and I can tell.  On a more exciting note, my husband can tell!!!

 

Thursday’s kick boxing totally kicked my butt!  I haven’t decided yet if I enjoy using the punching bags or not.  It encourages me to reach a little higher with my kicks, and throw my punches a little stronger, but without gloves I am also left with bruises.  Plus the higher and stronger is a lot more challenging.  The challenge is good, I know, but it’s definitely harder to keep on pace and keep proper form.

 

Friday‘s hiit was cut short by an interruption from my 17 month old daughter.  She’s had a really hard time adjusting to this new schedule, and with her horrible teething experience…well…she cried all of the 60 minutes that she was in there.  I had to leave my class 10 minutes early to get her and my other two children.  The workout was definitely difficult.  I found myself gasping for breath on several occasions and felt that familiar muscle burn form a repeated action.

 

All-in-all I’d say that it was a good week, productive, and I am forming the habit of sweating every morning.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

